The Big Weekend Part 1: Los Angeles

I cannot express how crazy, hectic, and exciting this weekend has been so far. Here are some of the highlights:

  1. After a week of intense editing of my winter film, I had a good in-class critique, then rushed to the airport and barely caught my flight to LA
  2. My mom drove up from San Diego to come to the Emerson LA Film Showcase
  3. We saw Gwen Stafani when we were eating dinner in a restaurant in Beverly Hills
  4. I got to catch up with many old friends, classmates, and teachers, as well as do some networking with alums
  5. We got to share 10,000 Trees with a wonderful audience at the Writer’s Guild Theater
  6. Last, but certainly not least, Sarah Ginsburg and I won the “Take Action Hollywood” award for social action filmmaking, and we got to take home a giant-sized check for $5,000!!!

It was an amazing experience to be part of, and I felt so honored that we won the award. I can’t believe that almost exactly a year ago, Sarah G. and I were running a Kickstarter campaign and flying to Portland to shoot our film. I feel like so much has happened in this past year, and I’m incredibly grateful for all the opportunities I have been given.

Now Sarah G. and I are off to Portland, to screen 10,000 Trees at the Portland Oregon Women’s Film Festival! It will be the first time that it’s screened in a theater with my entire family present. I’m just as excited to participate in the festival as I am to see my grandparents and celebrate the occasion. What a big week it has been…

 

Leave a Reply

