The IDA Awards

I never thought I would be able to say that I was in the same room as my documentary heroes such as Werner Herzog, Morgan Spurlock, and Alex Gibney, but recently I got to do just that! The International Documentary Association nominated Between Land and Sea, a short film I produced with Christian Jensen, for the David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award. Every year, the IDA holds an award show to highlight the best work being done in the industry, and we were fortunate enough to get to attend.

The funny thing is that while I was in college, I interned at the IDA and helped work behind the scenes on the award show. Now, I actually got to be a part of it! It was amazing and inspiring to be surrounded by so many talented filmmakers. I invited my dad to come along, because he always told me if I got nominated for an Academy Award, I would need to bring him as my guest. I figured I should cover my bases, just in case this is the closest I get to an Academy Award for a while. My dad has always loved film, and it was special to get to share the event with him. Though Christian and I did not come home with the prize, it was an honor to be there.

Leave a Reply

